Camouflage

IMG_0712If you follow me on Twitter, then you know that last week was very insightful for me – inspiring, encouraging, and energizing – a small revolution. Sometimes, I get very discouraged with myself, with this blog, and other creative endeavors, because I want everything that I put more than a smidgeon of effort into, to be meaningful and to serve a purpose.

I have so many interests, and dare I say – talents – that it’s hard to find the time to do everything that I would like to do and to master my craft, so I must start choosing how I spend my time much more wisely. But, what interests and activities most deserve my time and talent?

Desperate for an answer, I’ve been doing a lot of self-reflecting recently and putting things into perspective, simultaneously setting some goals,  and  seeking input from people that I genuinely trust and validation through my faith. What I have learned, so far, is that: 1. I do not give myself enough credit. I have accomplished a lot of things, including with this blog. People like what I have to say, and look forward to hearing it, and 2. I must get over my fears (of both complete failure and continued success), and take some risks in order to make a real impact. What am I really afraid of, anyway? What I have decided is that whatever I choose, I will do so with the benefit of others in mind, and not myself; recognition from others is not on my list of goals. With that, things are becoming more clear.

I am confident in what lies ahead, although I’m not certain in what direction my decision will lead. For now, I will proceed with the insight I have gained and the commitments I have made on the road to becoming a master servant. Still with style (I was born with that) and grace (I am a work in progress) of course, but with a  renewed sense of purpose and with sanctified ambition.

IMG_0674

IMG_0679

IMG_0683

IMG_0722

IMG_0684

What strategies have you used to discern your purpose? How do you decide what activities are really worth your time? (pictured with Brea of What I Wore Tip To Toe after a FABB Girls Club brunch)

This entry was posted in FABB Girls Club, FASHION, What I Wore and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Camouflage

  1. Great post. I took some time off as well, for almost two months to do some self reflection and take a much needed break. In that time a was able to plan out projects and know that I have to put in the work in and the end result will come with that. I feel refresh and more driven then ever. It can be hard blogging and feeling like no one is giving you feedback on your work, but know that you have bloggers out there going through the same thing. Over all, I think it’s just about planning projects and tackling them according, taking a breather for time to time, to refresh your mind and energy. Great way to begin the year and month of Feb. I’ll be supporting of course! Can’t wait to see what you blog about next!
    Love the outfit, by the way! :)

  2. Lauren says:

    Thanks, Oby! We have missed you!! But, I totally understand. And, welcome back :)

  3. GJames says:

    “…with a renewed sense of purpose and with sanctified ambition.” What’s a sanctified ambition? I’m curious.

    Nice post and great tie in. I think evaluation is awesome… especially when it’s done with an honest set of eyes.. and then ANOTHER set of eyes from the outside. One of the recent #10AMPrayers was asking the Lord to keep us from anything that’s not connected to our life’s purpose. We fully recognize that the hamster is busy and sweating and always doing something, but going NO WHERE on that wheel – no progress. Him taking a break from ‘work’ will be the greatest step forward as it may give him time to realize he’s been accomplishing nothing. Every day that we’re off our mark, lives suffer as they do not reap the benefits/love of our gifts. I take that calling seriously and I know you do also.

    TI said it recently… “Heavy is the head.”

    Lauren, continue sharing with us. We bless you and in addition to appreciating what you give now, we’re looking forward to great things from you!

    Follow me! @CMediaUSA
    -Gee James

  4. Lauren says:

    Philippians 2:3-4 says “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit (unsanctified ambition). Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others (sanctified ambition). Thank you so much for your encouragement!! Seriously, it really is appreciated. And the #10AMPrayers are awesome! I look forward to more.

Leave a Reply

