Vintage is the New Black

November 19, 2011: A visit to La Petite Marmoset Vintage was all I imagined. When I first met Katherine Martinez, owner of La Petite Marmoset, she told me that she owned a vintage shop, and that I should come by some time. She was dressed the part – in a bright red, vintage tuxedo jacket. Famous in the DC blogger/fashion community for her signature cut-outs on reconstructed pieces, not only is she super stylish, she’s awesomely friendly. And, come to find out, she’s extraordinarily humble. The perfect combination for a successful businesswoman.

   

It’s no wonder then, that while switching my clothes out a couple of weeks ago, I came across a dress that needed taking in and some updating – some reconstructing – and I immediately thought of Katherine.

Katherine welcomed me to her shop, a cozy, corner suite of her family house, with a bright smile, a big hug, and a painfully cute outfit for a Saturday afternoon in the office. After planning the reconstruction of my dress and while we chatted, I did some shopping around. I tried on some things (out of an amazing collection), and found the shirt I will likely wear for New Years Eve.

…go monkey around at La Petite Marmoset: give Katherine a call, on etsy or at the pop-up shop in Violet Boutique. Picture taken pre-departure by Katherine.

This entry was posted in Around Town, Brands/Collections, Capitol Fashion, Entrepreneurs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vintage is the New Black

  1. Ashley Tyrus says:

    Amazing and inspiring story! I love women who go out and live their dreams :)

  2. Elle of Chellbellz says:

    yay! I love her!! I hope to own my own store one day!

  3. Lauren says:

    Entrepreneurship! Entrepreneurship! Entrepreneurship!

  4. Waverly says:

    aww this is such an adorable post!! I’m so mad I’m just now seeing this. Love all the pictures you took :)

Leave a Reply

